RI?

Rexx Doopson

hello. I saw a nose bubble on my baby leo tortoise. is it an RI? online it says it can be caused by stress, and this just popped up after waking up (i wake him/her up for lunch -dinner by picking him out from his hide.) - that can be stressful. This is happening after a scale fell off if this helps anything (probably not) , but the tort is healthy and eating. Just seeing if this is a sign of anything.

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Fes, Morocco
Hi, Rexx.
I've no experience of this species or problem, though I would say that just a single bubble is nothing to be worried about.
If his breathing is ok and his appetite is good and there are no more bubbles, then he's probably fine.
Anyway, I've bumped this post, so maybe someone more knowledgeable will chip in.

Big B

5 Year Member
Orlando, FL
Just make sure your temps are good, and measured with a accurate thermostat or temp gun.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
A singe bubble is not a cause for concern. Was it recently soaked?

Rexx Doopson

No, he wasn't soaked, which makes me worry. I'm planning on just pumping the heat for a couple days/week. I'll be getting a UTH (my CHE can barely maintain heat. Even when covered w/ foil in a 50% closed chamber enclosure. When waking up, I checked the temps for the first time after using a CHE for the first time. They were in the 70's! + the hide which he was sleeping in was colder, but it was only about 3 nights and he seems fine. temporarily night heat would be his hide under a basking light, but the hide to be covered so no light is to come in and disturb his sleeping), which I have a question about. Can I use a UTH on a plastic bin/tub? will it melt the plastic? but anyways, the update is I saw one, just one bubble a couple days ago, on fri, but none anymore.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA