Rescued

Jill and Erica

I was on my way to work when I saw a little guy trying to cross a highway, good thing I have blue light for I am a police officer so I blocked traffic and was going to move the turtle across the road in the direction in which he was traveling. I became worried due to the fact the area he was heading is now under construction and is no loner the woods it once was. I took the little guy home and I had already had a garden box started, so I removed some dirt and placed a water bowl in and a rock and shaded one side. I looked at the rear legs and discovered he only has three toes. I wanted to keep the little guy I remember having a box turtle when I was a child. I live in South Carolina and I don't want the little guy to be in any harm. So far his habitat is outside I don't have any plants in with him yet was wondering what would be good and I would like to make his habitat better and shaded due to the bad summer heat. I also have been putting strawberries (not a fan) and cantaloupe a long with kale and slugs when I can catch them. I not sure if the little guy is male or female I will attempt to add a pic. But I am worry is the little guy going to be okay. I see turtles on the highway all the time and I didn't want that for this one. any advise would be greatly appreciated. I moisten the soil twice a day and refresh the water bowl area two or three times a day. I don't know how to add little guys pic, I tried but it wont go thru. I am also new member and don't know if this is the right area to post this comment.

IMG_1600.JPG IMG_1601.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

Dean Wirth

Location (City and/or State)
Alberta