? Regarding Redfoots

TortyTom

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Houston / Webster, TX
I have a sulcata but I have been thinking long and hard about getting a redfoot as well. My question is in regards to color. I have been seeing a lot of pics of young redfoots of brighter and different colors but everyplace I go and see their redfoots, they are always almost all black. Are the really cool colored ones just because they are so young and eventually turn black? Or can I find one that has more yellow or orange that last with age without paying thousands for hypos? Probably a silly question but forgive me for I just don't know???

naturalman91

5 Year Member
Medford Oregon
my red is still young but from what i understand and i could be wrong here the shell will darken yes but i've also been told it can depend on the sex like if i remember correctly (can't find info on hand) males are more colorful when adult while females lose some of the color like i said i'm no expert just something i remember reading

immayo

5 Year Member
Mesa, AZ
Are you talking in regards to shell color or scale color? The new shell growth will most definitely end up being black. Scale color on the other hand will stay. The nicer red/ orange baby you get the nicer color it will have in adulthood.

TortyTom

5 Year Member
Houston / Webster, TX
Are you talking in regards to shell color or scale color? The new shell growth will most definitely end up being black. Scale color on the other hand will stay. The nicer red/ orange baby you get the nicer color it will have in adulthood.

OK WOW! Your Vanilla Bean is amazing! I see it's a hypo but honestly, can you give me a ball park of what something like that would cost me? Not trying to get up in your personal biz. I just really need to know the money I would need to save for something like that. Thanks! And they all look amazing by the way. :<3:

naturalman91

5 Year Member
Medford Oregon