Possible tortoise rescue???

knolan16

I am new to the tortoise community. I have my baby boy I bought back in July and he is a Russian tortoise. I go to this local swap meet all the time here in indiana and its pretty big, people come from other states for it. The problem is that it's unregulated. You can sell anything as long as its not a firearm, or illegal. There is a group there that sell reptiles, tons of reptiles. They set out several huge rubber horse water bins with them in it. I feel so bad though because unlike other sellers they have not just tortoises but bearded dragons and other lizards in the bins filled so full that its just stack on top of stack of reptiles. The tortoises are always heart breaking because they always flip each other over and you know its rough on their shells. The swap meet starts up again in May and i was wanting to buy 1 or 2 in hopes of giving them better living conditions but i know they would need seperated based off of what ive read which will make housing them awkward and challenging. The guys will obviously get their money even if i dont buy them and they must have enough money to feed all of these reptiles because they all look well fed and lively, any ideas?

Beasty_Artemis

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Oregon Coast
Oh so sad. I've been there!
Just yesterday my mom and I were out shopping for substrate for my upgraded tortoise table. I just had to stop at the reptile section and look at the sad little Russians that are always housed incorrectly. Poor little babies! I'm always seeing Russians treated badly....
In the future (tomorrow mabey?) I want to rescue the poor babies myself.

saginawhxc

Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Our local petsmart occasionally will have a Russian for sale. They keep it in this tiny little tank about as long as 3 times his length and maybe 2 times his length wide.

I always feel bad for them, but I avoid supporting an industry that treats animals like that.

dmmj