Please help identify this tortoise

Julianne

Location (City and/or State)
Mesa, AZ
hi there, it’s my first time posting here and I’m new to taking care of a tortoise. We found this little guy in our yard in Tempe,AZ today. I am trying to figure out if it’s a sulcata or desert tortoise so I can care for him properly. Thanks for your help!!

2A19A366-B66C-4199-8FB1-04F15829516E.jpeg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
It is a desert tortoise. I'm not good with geography, but I THINK Mesa is in the Gopherus morafkai range, or a Sonora desert tortoise.

Julianne

Mesa, AZ
Thanks for all of the help!! Here is a front pic. I want to set up an outdoor enclosure for him. Any tips now that the temps are cooler?

Attachments

• C642BB4B-7654-4F2B-A23E-0050840603A8.jpeg
    C642BB4B-7654-4F2B-A23E-0050840603A8.jpeg
    702.5 KB · Views: 78

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
A warm welcome to the forum, @Julianne .

I think it's a desert tort.

Any pics of your tort's enclosure?

Julianne

Mesa, AZ
We don’t have an outside enclosure for him yet. I want to set one up soon but I’m unsure exactly what he needs. When we found him yesterday we went and bought just a basic reptile terrarium recommended by an employee at petco. We’ve placed it inside for now while i do more research.

Chizbad

Wilmington, NC
I don't think it's legal to take a desert tortoise from its native habitat in AZ to keep as a pet. Sorry to be a downer - I am sure there are a lot of other tortoises in need of adoption!

I’m almost sure this is right! Be very careful. It could be a pain taking it to the vet in the future if you ever had to

Julianne

Mesa, AZ
Thanks for the info! I've left a message for AZ game and fish. Hopefully they get back to me soon since their website doesn't have much info on what to do if you find a tortoise in your yard.

Ciri

5 Year Member
Tucson