Phoenix Extreme Heat

LostRock

Hi there,

I am brand new to any kind of tortoise/turtle forum. I've kept box turtles all my life. I know this might shock some of you, but my box turtles have always lived in my backyard. I've had 2/3 turtles live in my yard for almost a decade. They come to our porch when they are hungry, as they learn this is where they are provided with food. I have one eastern box turtle, one Mexican box turtle, and one ornate box turtle. They are all males. Anyways.

I live in Phoneix and I've always been worried about the high temperatures that we get here. Sometimes I mention to my mother that I worry about them in the heat, and she usually responds by being annoyed with me for being obsessive. My dad turns on the sprinklers for them in the morning. My concern is we're expecting a big heat wave this weekend. It will reach 120F. I'm concerned about them, regardless that my mom thinks I'm crazy. What is your opinion?

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Kent, South East England
Hello. I'm in the UK so don't have direct experience of your climate!

Typically when temperatures are very high, a tort will aestivate - sort of summer hibernation - They find a shady spot under a bush or in a burrow and shut down. It's not unusual for torts to become active only at dawn and dusk in these periods. Torts can overheat in direct sun. Does your yard have good shade?

They can also dehydrate. Can they self soak freely (an upturned trash can lid sunk into the ground makes a good soaking pool). If they can't self soak then you must give them good long soaks - half hour minimum - twice a day.

LostRock