pancake egg question

turtleescape

10 Year Member!
Much to my surprise one of my females laid her first egg today. I did not think I would see eggs until next year.
After reading a few articles it looks like I should use vermiculite for incubation substrate. However I am having a hard time finding it this time of year. Has anyone use hatchrite for pancake eggs?

thanks in advance for any help

tortadise

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Tropical South Texas
I have never used it before. But it should work just fine. You can also use perlite too.

edwardbo

5 Year Member
home depot ,near the house plants ,orchids,small bags of spagnum,are pancakes fun to keep ?make a posting

Tim/Robin

10 Year Member!
turtleescape said:
Has anyone use hatchrite for pancake eggs?

I have for many years, it is awesome!! I have two on it right now and a little hatchling that is 3 weeks old that hatched on it. Don't get it too wet. It is best to have dry substrate and ambient humidity 80% or so.

turtleescape

10 Year Member!
Tim/Robin said:
turtleescape said:

I have for many years, it is awesome!! I have two on it right now and a little hatchling that is 3 weeks old that hatched on it. Don't get it too wet. It is best to have dry substrate and ambient humidity 80% or so.

Do you cool the eggs for a few weeks to break diapause?
thanks

Tim/Robin

10 Year Member!
turtleescape said:
Tim/Robin said:
turtleescape said:

Do you cool the eggs for a few weeks to break diapause?
thanks

Nope!! Right from the nest to the incubator!! I have hatched a LOT of pancakes from my 1.2 group!

karmeleon

5 Year Member
What is your method of incubating on dry media with 80% plus humidity? I have a pair of pancakes and hope they will breed at some point. Do you use any stimulus to get them breeding?
Thanks

deadheadvet

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Cary, NC