Outdoor enclosure help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

james1990

5 Year Member
hey guys,
i am in the early stages of building an outdoor enclosure for my russian. im a newbie so just want to ask a few questions. with them being burrowers i was going to dig down, then put flags or slates etc before putting the substrate on so even through digging he wouldnt escape. my main question is what to put on top, i was thinking patches of grass, soil, bark cuttings, sand ? as i say im new to this so your help would be great !! cheers!

Rhyno47

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Hagerstown, MD
Build a pen on top of the soil. Add 5 inches of lose top soil inside the pen. They only dig down a few inches plus once they hit the hard bottom natural layer they should stop digging.

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State
Much of their burrowing activity, or lack of it will depend upon whether or not their requirements are met within the enclosure in terms of adequate hiding areas. My Russian tortoises never begin to burrow until the fall when the nights begin to get colder. All summer long they all reside under their shelter at ground level.
When they do burrow the average length of the burrows are about 12" long, some have been up to 24" long and most are 4-8" under ground at the end. I've never really observed Russians (or any tortoise species that I have) digging with the intent to escape. Most I've ever seen tend to try to climb over.

Cameron

10 Year Member!
Oklahoma