Richabi

Location (City and/or State)
wales uk
Hello to all I'm Richard from Wales in the UK I'm new to keeping tortoises any advice would be greatly appreciated thanks

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
Hello Richard, and a very warm welcome to Tortoise Forum to you and your tortoise(s).
I'm half Welsh myself and there are a few others I'm sure you'll encounter here.
I think this forum has the most up to date and complete information on tortoise care there is and many members with many years experience of all kinds of torts and turtles. If it's one year old, it's not usually possible to tell the sex for certain, it's a bit young.
If it's a horsefield have a look under the Mediterranean tortoise section and Russian tortoises subsection (russian and horsefield are the same).
Pay special attention to the care sheet pinned near the top there for young russians.
Photos of the tortoise and its enclosure are always helpful if that is possible for you.
Read , learn, contribute, ask questions and have fun!
Cymru am byth!

Richabi

wales uk
Hey diolch lol will post some pics tomorrow tort sleeping at the moment thanks cymru am byth

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi Rich from a fellow Welshman (well woman actually) and also a novice. You will be amazed at how much there is to learn to about tortoises and keeping them, but if you are prepared to throw out anything a pet shop has told you and follow all advice from the care sheets and very experienced keepers, as closely as possible then all answers are here and your tortoise should stay happy and healthy. Just ask whatever questions you have and someone will always be able to help or tell you where to look. So welcome and look forward to the pics. Where did you get him from?

Another useful website is www.tortoisetable.org.uk for help with plant ID and what is safe or not to feed.

Richabi

wales uk