Newbie - Future Cherry head tortoise owner! Help!

Jorge Moreno

Hello, everyone!

My name is Jorge Moreno and I am currently leave in California. I am a newbie in the tortoise world.
I'll be getting two cherry head red-footed tortoises hatchlings in a few weeks. I am currently doing research regards their habitat and I am wondering if the power sun 160W bulb by ZooMed is the right choice for UVB & UVA lighting. here is the pic of the bulb.

I am also building an indoor 3' Wx 6' Lx3' H habitat, but in the meantime, I will put the cherry heads in a 10-gallon fish tank. I am wondering if the 10-gallon fish tank is too small for their temporary habitat. I am also wondering if the habitat that I am building is too big.

Can someone help?

Thanks,
Jorge
powersun.jpg tortoise temporary habitat.jpg

MPRC

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Oregon
I don't believe that a 10g tank is large enough for one redfoot hatchling, let alone two. You might want to wait until you have the big enclosure made and even then it might be in your best interests to start with just one baby. They don't usually do well in pairs. Either a single tortoise or a group is the way to go.

popeye tortoise

5 Year Member
Pennsylvania
Hi and welcome to the forum. Yes a 10 gallon tank is to small for just one tortoise. Tortoise do better by them selves they do not need company or a friend. I do not know much about redfoots but be patience and you will get all the help you need. Try going to the beginners threads.

naturalman91

5 Year Member
Medford Oregon
you really don't want to house 2 together it's just asking for trouble some people do it successfully but are alway's ready to separate

i read a story of 2 reds being housed together and one ate the other's foot

MPRC

5 Year Member
Oregon
Tell us more about the enclosure you are wanting to build!

Anyfoot

5 Year Member
UK Sheffield
Hello, everyone!