new to sulcata raising

Status
Not open for further replies.

mischelle_99

5 Year Member
I am new to all this. We have a baby sulcata. It is approx. 2in. I would really appreciate any help, tips, or info that anyone has. We call him / her "Squirt". I just refer to "him" for now until finding out the sex further down the road. We keep him in a 20L glass tank. Substrate is crushed walnut shells (not happy with this but this is what the pet store recommended). Lighting is clamp on heat lamp that just sits on top of screen and long UV light that sits on top of screen. There is an under tank heater on one side of tank where his cave is at. He is soaked in water once per week, fed once or twice per day, does not seem to drink much but is offered it several times. He will not eat the tortoise pellets that the pet store sold us. We have tried several different thing and this what he seems to eat the most of... broccoli, alfalfa sprouts, carrots, tomato, he used to really like mulberry leaves but has no interest now. I am giving him Rep-Cal Phosphorous free calcium with vit.d and also Rep-Cal Herptivite with beta carotene Multivitamins sprinkled on food every few days. Could you guys please tell me about your daily / weekly routines? Feel free to criticize any and all things that we are doing wrong.

I already have figured out by reading on here that I am giving him all the wrong foods.

IMG_0099.jpg

IMG_0102.jpg

dannomite

5 Year Member
http://tortoiseforum.org/thread-6570.html

If you read the responses on those posts it should answer some of your questions. You need a much bigger enclosure. Soak every day not just once a week. I don't think the Substrate is very good either. The food you are feeding is not right as you suspected but my response on that thread URL should explain more.

The UV is important and so is the temperature but make sure it doesn't get too hot, use a digital thermometer to get accurate temp readings.

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member