Am I generally raising my Sulcata correctly?

C_P808

5 Year Member
Hello everyone.

This is my first time ever posting here, so let me post details about my Sulcata; Chewie. I want to be sure I'm taking care of Chewie in the best possible manner for where I live. Please feel free to criticize anything I post below and share your own advice. Just don't be too harsh on me, I am still learning. Haha.

First off, my fiance and I bought Chewie when he or she (we THINK he's a boy) was maybe a year old; was about the size of the palm of your hand. We mistakenly housed Chewie in a large aquarium; about 5ft. by 2ft., for about three months. But, we kept the aquarium outside in the backyard. We live in Hawaii so temperature was never truly a problem. But, on those nights or days it would rain (it can rain a lot here at times), I set up a UVB heat lamp on top of the aquarium, so Chewie could bask under the light, or move to the other side of the aquarium for shade on the days it was just to wet to keep the aquarium outside. I eventually noticed that Chewie started getting teary eyes. After research I discovered that his eye problem could be caused by living in the aquarium and the humidity here. Humidity is real bad here as you may already know. High 90% tile usually. So we ditched the aquarium and allowed Chewie to freely live in the back yard. We don't have a HUGE backyard, nothing on an acre scale. Maybe 500 sq. ft. give or take. He has plenty of room to roam around and graze on the assorted grass and weeds here. Best of all, the sun is almost out all day long so I know Chewie gets more than enough sun exposure daily. There are plenty of bushes and shaded spots he can go to chill if the sun gets too intense, which it really does this time of year. After moving him outdoors, his eye problem cleared up and he generally seems very happy.