New To Group

TortieD68

Location (City and/or State)
Newcastle
Hi All.

I have just acquired a 6 year old Horsefield Tortoise on Monday from a lady who is unable to care for her. I'm new to this so please bare with me. I have done plenty reading and just want to make sure I'm getting things right :)

The tortoise was also had been kept on wood cat litter pellets :( she is on top soil from Wickes now :)

I have a few questions:

1.How long will it take her to settle in?

She is feeding on weeds and flowers and a little radicchio but very little and is drinking from her bowl. I have bathed her every other day so far to keep her hydrated. Which she enjoys.

Currently trying to entice her to a variety of foods. However doesn't seem to take much, if any. I leave out fresh food all day hoping she will nibble on her own accord. She will feed from Me but again also little amounts.

2. When growing your own Tortoise food, what's the rules to follow, I'm guessing just top soil and no added anything?

I am a Keen gardener so this is no issue, would like to be prepared for winter food when weeds are scarce :)

My temps on table are under basking 35c, cold side 23c warm side 26c. Are these suffice or need altering?? Humidity varies around table. Not sure if she had UVB light which she now has not strong 5% until I get bulb in post.

She has passed a poo. She urinates everyday.

She just doesn't seem that active and just hope I am doing my best for her. Please advise.

So gratefull for a forum like this :)

KarenSoCal

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Low desert 50 mi SE of Palm Springs CA
Hi, and welcome!

It sounds to me like you're doing a great job with your new best friend!

After reading your post, I noticed that a lot of your questions are answered in our new care sheet for Russians (or Horsfields). I'll link it for you. It covers temps very well. It's written for hatchling care specifically, but it covers adults as well.