New sulcata owner....

Crowley1103

I'm very new to the tortoise world. I just got my baby yesterday. Sulcata and 6 months old. Purchased from tortoise town in New Jersey. I've been doing lots and lots of research but a lot of it is conflicting. I was super excited to find this forum! Everyone is so helpful and knowledgeable. My concerns so far are that my tortoise won't eat yet. Is this normal? I was thinking he might just have to get use to me and his new home first?? But how long should I wait for him to eat before I get a vet involved? Another worry is trying to keep his temps and humidity consistent. Any tips?? And anything else really important I should know or be doing besides soaking him?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

Lack of appetite can occur when they are moved to new surroundings, but it is also often an indicator that temperatures are too cold. What are you using for heating, lighting, and UV? Night heat?

There is a lot of old, out-dated, incorrect info floating around out there. Please read these:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/how-to-raise-a-healthy-sulcata-or-leopard-version-2-0.79895/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/for-those-who-have-a-young-sulcata.76744/

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome. The threads Tom linked for you to read should help you get the enclosure, temps and humidity correct. Ask if you need further help. Please don't listen to most stuff outside this forum. As Tom said, most is old and outdated.

Crowley1103