New redfoot

mamameg

Location (City and/or State)
Detroit, MI, USA
Hello!

My name is Meg and I am new to the redfoot world. I am attaching photos of my new cherryhead, Loretta. She is about 6 months old and was mailed overnight on Tuesday. She's been home with me for two days now. Every morning I soak her for 15 minutes. She seems alert and moves around in the water. Afterwards I place her on her food and she only eats for (less than) a minute and goes back to her favoriteIMG_1605.JPG IMG_1599.JPG hide. She stays in her hide unless I pull her out to eat/be sprayed/soak. She only eats for a minute each time. She had stuck to greens so far and has not had any fruit or mushrooms yet. I keep her home at the low 80s on one side and the low 90s on the side she prefers. Humidity is between 65% - 75%. Is there a reason she is not being active? Should I be concerned? Perhaps I am being a bit paranoid, but I thought I'd rather be safe and ask than be sorry!

IMG_1599.JPG IMG_1605.JPG IMG_1599.JPG IMG_1605.JPG

Attachments

• IMG_1615 (2).JPG
    IMG_1615 (2).JPG
    136.9 KB · Views: 22

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
Congratulations on your baby.
Your humidity is a little low and your high temperatures are a bit too high. My Redfoot do not like it hotter than 88ish.
Otherwise, babies DO sleep and hide a lot.
Also, as you will soon hear again. Those red lights work well for a little extra heat, but they color a lot of things red. Red is a color that looks like food and will often lead to a tortoise eating something that it shouldn't have. (like those plastic plants)

mamameg

Detroit, MI, USA
Congratulations on your baby.
Your humidity is a little low and your high temperatures are a bit too high. My Redfoot do not like it hotter than 88ish.
Otherwise, babies DO sleep and hide a lot.