new member doing research

Status
Not open for further replies.

missmoofi

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Murcia, Spain
:tort: hello everyone, newbie here, Im tortie-less at the moment but hope to be re-homing 2 soon. I live in Spain in an area where they are wild, and lots of people find them in their gardens and dont want them....soooo Im waiting to adopt :D
I have 3 cats, one that is a serious hunter and eats 'al fresco' most days, one that just hangs in the garden chilling under the palms, and an old boy that snoozes the whole day in the house...so was wondering if and how kitties & torties lived together
I have a fairly big garden and intend that they live a near as natural life as possible, but we do have a pool, so thats a concern, I do have a garden area that has a two steps access up to the pool, so that be ok if they can climb up those....well thats enought questions to be going with at the moment, looking forward to my pending adoption and meeting you all :cool:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi missmoofi:

Welcome to the forum!!

May we know your name?

Some tortoises are able to float, but others sink like a stone. It would be best if you could fence off the pool area so the tortoise can't get near it.

Missy

5 Year Member
Illinois
I would worry about the cats. Cats,birds,dogs and lots of other animals can kill a tortoise. Happens all the time:( I understand that you want to keep it natural but to keep the tort safe it needs and enclosure with a top made with wire. If you look at enclosures on TFO you will see that you can make them beautiful and natural and safe. Welcome to TFO :)

missmoofi

5 Year Member
Murcia, Spain