new here need help I think she's sick

mattsr6

Hi there. I just got a sulcata tortoise 3 days ago. I just got her a uvb bulb which she wasn't provided with before. Supposively she's a year old but she's only 3-4inches. My main concern is her eyes barely open and she doesn't move a lot. Shes a little more active when I take her out but she usually stays in one spot all day. I haven't seen her eat which I'm also worried about. I've tried to feed her romain lettuce carrots and hay. It doesn't seem like she's eating any of it. Her basking spot is between 80-85 and night time temp is 75. I'm new to this so I don't know much I just want the best for her. I've been getting mixed advice and it all seems terrible. Any help would be great. Like how to set up their home how long to leave the lights on etc...
My main concerns are her eyes and her eating. I heard u can put human eye drops in their eyes but I'm not trying to test that.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Matt, and welcome to the Forum!

There might be two things going on here. First of all, what kind of UVB light did you buy? If you have the spiral, compact fluorescent bulb, get rid of it faster than fast. Those bulbs cause pain and discomfort similar to snow blindness. Baby tortoises' eyes swell and stick shut in that lighting.

The other thing is temperature. If its too cold for your baby it causes him to not eat. Not eating causes the eyes to eventually swell and stick shut.

I like to keep my baby tortoises in a smallish plastic bin with a day light fixture and a night fixture. There are a couple plants in there just to give a more secure feel to the area. The day light is an MVB (mercury vapor bulb), and it provides heat along with the necessary UVB. The night light is a black bulb that provides a bit of heat during the cool night time.