New Hatchling, New Questions! Please help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortnerd

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
I am an idiot.
Today, I saw a CL posting for a baby Sulcata "turtle". The picture was of a 10 g tank, sand substrate, and 2 heating lights aimed at the entire nightmare.

I drove out to "meet" her, and, well, now I have a hatchling Sulcata. She fits in the palm of my hand.
I have had 2 young RTs for a year now, and they are thriving, so I'm not a complete newb. I am sort of aware of what I have just gotten myself into. That said, I have so many questions!
She seems healthy despite her circumstances, very active and curious. But, the women I bought her from said they had started out with 2, and one had recently died. :(

She was supposedly on a diet of vegetables and supermarket kale and spinach. I'm going to cut the vegetables entirely, and tomorrow start mixing dark leafy greens with timothy hay. I was thinking of just buying the died stuff for guinea pigs- is that okay?
I don't know anything about which grasses are okay, except that Alfalfa is not. Can I feed her my lawn? We've never used chemicals on it.
So far, she has eaten nothing with me.

My other question is lighting- she came with a red heat lamp which seems okay to me (80 or so on the hot end of her new tort bin) but the basking lamp is a coil. Is it true that this could blind her? Additionally, the fixture has a reflective inside. I think I remember reading somewhere that this was a bad idea for a basking light- does anyone know anything about this?

I know I don't really post here a hole bunch, but I really need help! I feel kind of in over my head. I want this tortoise to do well, she deserves better than what she's had so far. And I'll post pictures as soon as she wakes up tomorrow!

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
USA