Need some advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Turtle Guru

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
WV
I have been reading for a couple months about hibernation for my box turtle ,and i know most of it, but im still worried about it still because im new to hibernating box turtles because i have raised a lot long aquatic turtles dont really need it(i dont think in my opion). But anyways i have picked everything out for him this winter like he is staying in a cold part of my house ,so i can keep an i on him. Also i got the other stuff down pat im pretty sure of it. (So my question is to you guys is there any good way of cheacking on him, to see he is doing aright ,and also i need some tips that i may i have not read like you have picked up over the years.) Also just tell some info on what you like to do for them because i like reading it more than once ,so i remember it. Also if I havent metioned it im hibernating him inside in a cool place inside near what it is outside.

zesty_17

5 Year Member
Florida
i do not do a true hibernation period for my turtles, they brumate for only a few weeks during the winter, and are awake the rest. They naturally slow down activity levels, but never truly hibernate. I offer them plenty of digging substrate on half of the enclosure and a heat source on the other-all outside (in florida). I have heard of people both for and against hibernating captive species, but i have no real set views on it. I do not believe in hibernating juveniles though in captivity-very risky.

Turtle Guru

5 Year Member
WV
zesty_17 said: