Need help identifying tortoise.

wretchedone

Hello, My name is Greg and I live in Cool, California. I was driving to Folsom Lake today and came across a tortoise in the road. I'm do not know of any native tortoises in this area. I have attached a couple of pictures, if someone could identify it for me I'll know whether I can turn it loose or not. Thanks.

20150714_190739.jpg 20150714_190748.jpg 20150714_190759.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
It's some kind of water turtle, Greg. I'm not good at I.D.ing the water turtles. I know it's NOT a native California water turtle, as the natives have a yellow bottom shell.

wretchedone

Not sure of that, don' water turtles have webbed feet, at least the back ones? This one has no webbing.

tortdad

5 Year Member
NW Houston TX
yeah its a turtle, not a tortoise. The bottom shell has a hinge on it. Don't know what kind of turtle but it looks like a water turtle and not a land dwelling box turtle

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
Hello there and a very warm welcome to Tortoise Forum.
I say turtle for what it's worth.
I thought I was the Wretched One round here.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
It might be one of the Central American Wood turtles, except it has no design on it's shell. Take a look at pictures of them and see what you think.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Oh, and DON'T TURN IT LOOSE!!!! The Department of Game and Fish really frowns on turning loose turtles and tortoises, even native ones, and there's a hefty fine for doing so. If you don't want the turtle, contact a rescue and give it to them.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Turtle foot:

SliderYellowbellyFoot01.jpg

Tortoise foot:

upload_2015-7-15_9-33-12.jpeg