Need advice on opening for tortoise enclosure.

Desertreed

Location (City and/or State)
Vail
I have 2 adult sulcatas that i recently adopted. I have no experience with this breed. I have built a 8 x 8 insulated winter wooden structure and live in Tucson, Arizona. Do i need to build a door that was restrict their movement (keep them in the enclosure) on wet and cooler days? I can have winter days with the low in the 30s and high in the 50s. If i allow them to move freely inside and outside the box, will they instinctively go back inside the box for shelter on adverse days or should i restrict their movements? I have heavy plastic vinyl strips on the doorway so they can go in and out now, but can add a wooden door to limit their movements. Thank you for the advice.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
No
Most tortoises will not instinctively go inside a warm night box. Some do. Some dont.
I place my RF group into their heated night houses and place cinder blocks in front of the door flaps to keep them inside until morning.
I believe with Sulcata, a very sturdy door. Maybe with some sort of lever or lock would be required.
And keeping two in such a small area might present it's own issues.
They're very solitary in nature.
If you haven't had issues yet. You probably will very soon.

Markw84

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)