Need advice on caring for baby sulcata

Status
Not open for further replies.

carlywelch

5 Year Member
Hi everyone so I'm very new to having a tortoise I have a Africa sulcarta tortoise we had giving a name but now need a unisex name as being told the sex we have been given is wrong as 2 young 2 told the sex and all the other advice is wrong 2 we having told what he/she can eat by the people we got him/she from but people have sed being giving wrong advice n I'm 2 scared to feed him in case I'm doing it wrong he is about 8 weeks old would like some advice please thanks

tortie6778

5 Year Member
Need advice

I feed my sulcata alittle fresh romain on occasion like 2x a week also I feed him kale and collard greens mixed with some cut squash or carrots and that's what he eats on a daily basis unless I feed him romain. I also always give him access to timmothy hay and I let him roam around outside for awhile and he tends to much on some grass. For hydration I'd soak him at least 1x a week in a bowl of water must be shallow but I also give him a water bowl in his enclosure but not all day because I heard they can get respitory infections so I avoid that. That's about it it's been pretty successful for me and he hasn't developed pyramiding since I put him on that. I also would recommend you check out forms on what to feed sulcatas because there is much more you can feed him.

Laura

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Foothills above Sacramento CA
RE: Need advice

Go to the Sulcata Section and start READING! :) At the top there is a thread about How to Raise a baby Sulcata.. start there..
for a diet.. they need a variety of mixed weeds, greens and grass to graze on. When he is outside.. which is best, he needs a Safe Secure enclosure. He also needs to be humid and not too dry. but not wet and cold.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA