My new RF

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrsGREEN

5 Year Member
Inherited dead lady's red foot

I am new to this tortoise thing and am clueless. All of the websites all say different things. This tortoise is believed to be between 20 and 35 years old and was kept in an enclosure about the size of a small catbox(not much larger than the tortoise). We now have it in a plastic kids pool with ash mulch as that was what it lived in before. We plan to build an enclosure, but we are wondering if he can walk around the house? Will he poop all over? Are the carpet fibers bad for him? Can the cats hurt him? Will he get bigger with a larger enclosure? Also he was being fed frozen mixed veggies, does anyone have suggestions about changing his diet slowly or even at all? Will he chew on electrical cords?

Attachments

• IMG_4957.JPG
    IMG_4957.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 74

MrsGREEN

5 Year Member
I'm new and have some questions about my new red foot. He is between 20-35 years old and was kept in a cat box just enough for him to turn around in. He was fed frozen mixed veggies. I don't know much about him otherwise, we inherited him from a lady who died in our apartment complex. His name is Footlocker and he responds to it. How can I change his diet, what should I feed him? Can I let him out of his new enclosure(a blue kids pool with ash mulch)? Will carpet fibers hurt him? Can the cats hurt him? Will he chew electrical cords?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi MrsGreen:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

May we know your name and where you are?

I'll defer to our redfoot keepers to answer your questions.

Irwin4530

5 Year Member
BEAUTIFUL!!! You are lucky that he looks so nice if that was really his situation.
This is a great site for reference http://tortoiseyard.com/diet.htm
on what to feed....make sure you are getting protien in or they can suffer