My 5 month old

Mytortsampson

Hey yall I'm new to owning a tortoise! I have a 3 month old sulcata that I've had about a week. He is currently in a terrarium with coconut fiber substrate, gets uvb and heat during the day (stays about 100°F) on one side of his tank, during the night he has an inferred lamp (stays about 90°F), he gets calcium and soaked every other day, he also eats grassland tortoise food, kale, and aloe vera (with spines taken off).
My question is that he just seems unhappy, he doesn't seem to be eating much, he doesn't really move around much, and he just kinda stays in his house majority of the day. When I went to pick him up from the breeder he was the most active out of all the tortoises there which is why I'm a little concerned .... I wanna try and be the best tortoise momma I can be and keep him happy. Please If yall can give me any help or advice on how to help my baby tort please let me know!

Blakem

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
California
You should try to include some grasses, flowers and weeds in that diet. Purchase some Mazuri as well. I don't know how often you do the calcium, but I'd only feed it 2 times a week. You should have 4 temps at all times basking 95-100, ambient 90-95, cool side I don't like to be lower than 90, and the same with night time temperatures. Buy a temperature gun to measure throughout the tank. Soak him daily in like warm water and always provide a water bowl. Show us a picture of your setup and we may be able to help. He is possibly still adjusting to his new home.

Jodie

5 Year Member
Spokane Valley WA
Hi, and welcome. Read the care guides pinned in the Sulcata section. He needs a range of temperatures. 100 is good for basking, but he needs an area in the 80's. Humidity is also important. At this age I would soak daily.

Mytortsampson