Miko my new leopard not interested in lettuce

BrinnANDTorts

5 Year Member
My new lil bitty leopard isn't very interest in eating the kale and greens I bought for him. He is only the size of a quarter so I chopped everything up really fine and sprinkled with calcium powder and he like tastes it but doesn't seem to really want to eat. I put a blueberry in there mushed up and he devored it..
Any tricks for getting them to eat greens? He is little so he just might not be that hungry
He is a baby, still has a egg tooth. I have a 100 degree basking temp and the coldest temp in cage is 85
On Coco coir, damp for humidity. I soak him twice a day and squirt him as many as possible

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Very little calcium, a tiny pinch twice a week and disguise it really well. No fruit. Keep trying different kinds of greens.

BeeBee*BeeLeaves

5 Year Member
Orange County, So Cal
How cute, that you named him Miko. I have a friend with that name. Yay.
Try without the calcium and see if that helps. Also, try to avoid fruit for now because of the sugars and baby is still so young and he may not have what he needs and the fruit sugars can cause a nasty "bloom" of bad bacteria.

Here is a fun link I think you may like: http://www.pinterest.com/pietersmith/leopard-tortoise-edible-plants/

BrinnANDTorts

5 Year Member
I'll try some without the powder,
He is very very active tho, spends most his time running around the cage. Or basking
I'm use to torts that eat like pigs, pretty much anything.

BeeBee*BeeLeaves

5 Year Member
Orange County, So Cal
BUT, your baby had a stressful trip, although he seems okay, he may still getting over that crazy plane and truck and car ride. Imagine not knowing what is going on outside that dark box. And baby does not know you yet. He/she may be wondering if you are going to eat him.

BrinnANDTorts

5 Year Member
Re: RE: Miko my new leopard not interested in lettuce