Magic sweet spot operating temp.

mikeh

5 Year Member
I am wondering on what would be a single sweet spot ambient or core operating temp for 6 month old leopard.

I am aware of recommended gradients, but what would be that magic narrow range in which the tort is the most active?

stinax182

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Springfield, Massachusetts
I'd say 80-85° I'm no expert but too hot can harm the tort and i wouldn't keep the tortoise in anything lower than 75° and that's only if you have a dry enclosure. if you have high humidity, it should never drop below 80°f

Levi the Leopard

IXOYE
10 Year Member!
Southern Oregon
Re: RE: Magic sweet spot operating temp.

mikeh said:
I am wondering on what would be a single sweet spot ambient or core operating temp for 6 month old leopard.

I am aware of recommended gradients, but what would be that magic narrow range in which the tort is the most active?

If you raise your Leopard with high humidity then your "sweet spot" or ambient temperature should be 80F. Maintain this using a CHE on thermostat. Super easy and insures that your sweet spot will be maintained.

mikeh

5 Year Member
Thanks Heather, but that goes back to general recommended gradient. I don't use CHE or basking bulb. I use heat cables. Trying to narrow down the most optimal day time ambient temp as my gradient fluctuates only 2-3 degree difference between warm side and cool side. So far I am coming with temps 89-92F, but I'd like a feedback. Nighttime 78-80F.

Levi the Leopard

IXOYE
10 Year Member!
Southern Oregon
Hmmm. I didn't realize you wanted a stable temperature throughout the entire enclosure.
I personally would never choose to do that. Microclimates are a necessity IMO.

Hopefully you find your answer.

stinax182

5 Year Member
Springfield, Massachusetts
oh, i see. my mistake.