Lots of questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kameo37

5 Year Member
Hi Y'all!
I have been doing a TON of reading and though my head is spinning, my family is still interested in caring for a tortoise!
Just a little background: We currently have a beardie, corn snake and two leopard geckos. We know about the importance of UVB, supplements, proper diet, etc. We are happy and willing to go the extra mile as far as building custom homes for our herps, ordering quality food, etc. Been there, still doing that. :) I am a tireless researcher and I am only interested in providing the BEST quality of life for the critters we add to the family. I am a member of multiple specific reptile forums to prove it...ha! We are in it for the long haul. I am used to providing for the specific needs of reptiles. I have a big backyard, 2300+ sqft, and I live in the Dallas, TX area. I have made my kids sign documents saying they will care for the tortoise, since it will outlive us...

Questions:
- I want the tortoise to live outside for most of the year. I have read that leopards have the best temp range. Is that correct?
-If I provide a heated, insulated outside enclosure, do I still have to bring them inside during the winter? We have a big yard, but the house is small. Especially with the other reptile enclosures...
A garage situation would possibly work.
-If you live in Dallas, and keep tortoises outside year round, or mostly year round, what species do you have?
- I am reading Tom's threads about humidity/temps/pyramiding/overall health. If I plan to keep our future tortoise outside, I'm not super sure about how to provide the humidity. I have been to Kelly Hull's Tortoise Sanctuary, which is awesome btw, and he has misters set up around his forest species. Also, am I wrong? Does the humidity only need to be high for babies? If so, at what point is the humidity not an issue for desert torts, like sulcatas and leopards?