Lighting 101

TortitudeLove

5 Year Member
I am very new to the tortoise world. I read a lot about the different lighting fixture/bulbs around. It is all very confusing since there are many different opinions. I am a pet store victim it appears. I have a zoo med double dome fixture 100watt basking bulb and red bulb for night time heat. I also have a 5.0 mini uv light. I have glanced at a few comments that are against the swirly bulbs for health reasons. MVB seem to be the heavy favorite here, 3-in-one bulb. Can I work with what I have? They were a gift. Invest in different fixture/bulbs? Product and brand recommendations are greatly appreciated. Forgive any ignorance.

Markw84

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
I would really suggest taking the fixtures and bulbs back to the pet shop and let them know it will not work. To properly suggest your best option it would be helpful to know the type of tortoise and perhaps a picture of the enclosure your are going to have the lights in

Two basic options. But that depends upon size and type of ebclosure

1 - get a larger " brooder" fixture at Home Depot for $11 and put in the MVB you already discovered as a good option. That will take care of
UV and basking heat and normal lighting. You will then need another brooder fixture with a ceramic heat bulb on a thermostat for maintaining min temps even when the lights are out

2 - get a tube style fluorescent for UV and add a regular FLOOD bulb for basking heat normally 65-100 watts will do it. You will then need the ceramic heat bulb and thermostat for temp maintenance

Again. The size of you enclosure and whether enclosed or not will often dictate choice as the MVB gets too hot often for a smaller and/or enclosed setup

Also look into humidity requirements. First step show us what you have and the type and size of tortoise

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California