Leopard Tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joslynnchristine

5 Year Member
Hi i am new to this and just want to make sure i am doing everything right. I have a 2 month old leopard tortoise.

I have a zoo med powersun 100w light that provides uva, uvb and heat on him for at least 12 hours a day and for the rest of the day i have zoo med nightlight red bulb 100w as well. The light is about a foot in a half from him.

I am keeping him in a container about a foot in a half by two feet. he has a water dish and a food dish. There is a box in the container for shade.

Right now i am feeding him spring mix (im in the middle of growing bermuda grass for him). There is also cuttlebone pieces in his food dish. For his substrate i am using zoo med eco earth loose coconut fiber.

-How often should i soak him?
-Am i using the right lights?
-Should i be doing anything else?
-I know he need to be out side but when i live there is ALOT of wind and kinda cold. What should i do?

tn.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi JoslynnChristine:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

It looks like you're doing everything right. The only thing I would change would be to get a bigger container.

I soak my babies every day.

What would you like us to call you?

...and may we know appx. where in the world you are?

Neal

10 Year Member!
Arizona
Joslynnchristine said:
-How often should i soak him?
-Am i using the right lights?
-Should i be doing anything else?
-I know he need to be out side but when i live there is ALOT of wind and kinda cold. What should i do?

- I would recommend soaking everyday for ten minutes or so.
- Your lighting is adequate. I would recommend additional lighting if you are not able to get him outside. Some full spectrum florescent's may stimulate his apatite and increase his activity level.
- How often do you feed him?