Kinixys ID help needed!

2turtletom

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Akron, Ohio
Hello Fellow Tortoise Enthusiasts;

I'm new here, but I've been keeping Kinixys since I was a teenager; I have two today, including this one, that I'm wondering what exact species it may be. It was sold to me as a West African Hingeback, and it has only four front toenails. However, this one is quite different than my other Kinixys, which is a no-doubt-about-it nogueyi.

Take a look. I'd love to know what you think! This individual was imported before the ban- I purchased her in 2000!

I'd be happy to take more/better photos to help get an definitive ID. I'd love to find a male some day! :)

Thanks!

-Tom

Attachments

• IMG_4602.JPG
    IMG_4602.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 80
  • IMG_4605.JPG
    IMG_4605.JPG
    764.5 KB · Views: 79

speckles&spud

PNW, USA
Hello!
I'm not an expert, but she appears to be either a Bells or Speke's. She's beautiful! I have a male Speke's myself.

2turtletom

5 Year Member
Akron, Ohio
Hello!
I'm not an expert, but she appears to be either a Bells or Speke's. She's beautiful! I have a male Speke's myself.
Thank you. After showing this animal's photos to many Kinixys experts, they all believe she is a Kinixys nogueyi. This is the western subspecies of Kinixys belliana,now elevated to full species.

Bambam1989

East Texas
The four toes on the forlimbs sounds like a good indicator of a noguyei.
Can you show us a picture from directly above the tort looking down on the top of the shell. I'd like to see it's shape..

Toddrickfl1

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Ga
I think the hingebacks are very cool. They strike me as tough, scrappy little tortoises!

speckles&spud

PNW, USA
Thank you. After showing this animal's photos to many Kinixys experts, they all believe she is a Kinixys nogueyi. This is the western subspecies of Kinixys belliana,now elevated to full species.