Just picked up my first Hermann's Tortoise!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lilmama

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Tacoma, Wa
Hello everyone, I am new to tortoises. I have experience with bearded dragons and crested geckos. My husband has ball pythons so I am new to the whole tortoise world. I went to a reptile show last weekend here in Washington with my family and was surprised by my husband with my cute little Hermann's tortoise whom I have named Geisha. If anyone has any hints on how to keep them happy or a great diet please feel free to let me know. I currently feed her grass from the yard and she loves clovers along with one dandelion a day, but I want to make sure I am doing right with my baby.

geisha.jpg

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome. Color me jealous. I love the hermanns, but don't have any yet.

We have a weed and plant ID section here on the forum. Browse through there and see if any look familiar. More variety is good. You can also grow your own spineless opuntia cactus, grape leaves, mulberry tree leaves, rose, hibiscus and rose of sharon, leaves and flowers, gazanias. The list goes on and on...

Nothing wrong with spring mix or Santa Barbara Mix for some variety too.

I love that you have her outside in the sunshine. Tortoises NEED sunshine. Be careful though as they can disappear pretty easily. There are lots of ideas for safe outdoor enclosures in the enclosure section.

Good luck and have fun.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Lilmama:

Welcome to the forum!!

May we know your name and where you are?

Jacob

5 Year Member
California
Welcome Congrats On The New Family Member, Grass Is Fine!
Dandelions Are Great, Along With Cactus and Spring Mix They Are All Good For Tortoises :)

tortoisenerd

5 Year Member
Washington