Is my sulcata ok??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tyler McRae

5 Year Member
Hey guys im new to the Tortoise Forum and pretty stoked to be apart of it. My name is Tyler and i live in Ogden Utah. We have pretty cold winters so its hard to be a tortoise keeper. I have two awesome Sulcata tortoises. I have a 3 year old named dude he/she? is very beautiful shelled healthy and social tortoise. I also have a 9 year old i just recently got from girl down in st Geroge. He is a big guy and not very social it doesnt seem like he got a lot of care or attention for nine years when i got him his shell was very dirty and dried out he is peeling and flaking in some parts also sunken in the back of his shell. In the crevis of his shell its all peely and flaky looking :( He also has a little bit of white in his shell were the crevis is it should all be black im assuming, just looks out of place. But i have been soaking him daily and putting some cream stuff called vita shell it seems to be getting a little better im just trying to get him a bit more social. But i was just hoping to get some answers from some people who may know about these symptoms. so PLEASE help me out thanks guys look forward to chatting up thanks.

Attachments

• flaked shell.jpg
    flaked shell.jpg
    101.1 KB · Views: 135
  • turt\'s chipped shell.jpg
    turt\'s chipped shell.jpg
    138.6 KB · Views: 119
  • turt\'s underbite 2.jpg
    turt\'s underbite 2.jpg
    79.1 KB · Views: 109
  • white bone shell.jpg
    white bone shell.jpg
    105.8 KB · Views: 130

BrookeB

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Bodfish
I can't see the pictures but I'm sure one of the great keepers on here will help you and Welcome! Hope your new baby is not sick and just needs some TLC :D

Tyler McRae

5 Year Member
BrookeB said:
I can't see the pictures but I'm sure one of the great keepers on here will help you and Welcome! Hope your new baby is not sick and just needs some TLC :D
[/q