Is an active tortoise stressed or having fun?

ladybee

Location (City and/or State)
Gran Canaria
Wachu is an 18 month old Russian who lives outdoors during the day and comes in at night. We live in the Canary Islands, where it's sunny and hot during the day - temperatures range from the low 20s to low 30s (Celcius) depending on the time of year.

My outdoor terrace and garden is fully secure (about 15m long and 2 metres wide) and she has full run of it during the day - hiding spots and digging areas, logs to climb around, a little paddling pool area dug into the ground and plants to forage amongst.

I've noticed she's super active during the mornings - spends the whole morning walking up and down the terrace along the walls and very occasionally stopping for a sunbathe. Then mid-afternoon she slows down and as the weather here often turns chillier, I tend to bring her in, whereupon she goes to bed and sleeps until morning.

I'm new to keeping her outdoors (her previous owner had her indoors the whole time) and I'm not sure how to tell if she's so active because she's stressed or if she's just having a good time exploring and exercising.

Any advice on what I should be looking out for as signs of stress vs signs of a happy tort? Am I overthinking things?

GBtortoises

10 Year Member!
The Catskill Mountains of New York State
Tortoises in general are wanderers. In the wild they would have a general area or territory that they exist in. For them to stay in the area it has to have the basic essentials to exist. Safety, shelter, food, water and opportunity to procreate. Tortoises do not think much beyond that. They spend their days seeking those essentials as needed. Males of many species will patrol their territory more frequently to ensure that rival males do not attempt to move in and to find females to breed. It's no different in captivity except they usually do not have control over those essentials. We the keepers do.