Introduction: Beginner looking for some suggestions

holoublahee

Hi.

My name is Juan, I'm 19 and in college. I have been considering getting a tortoise for a few months now, and I've been doing some basic research, but I know that forums are the place to get the best information! I have lots of experience with reptiles and amphibians, but I haven't kept any for a few years. I also have various planted aquariums with some beautiful fish that I keep well maintained.

I would love to have a larger tortoise, but I will be keeping it at college for most of time for the next 3 years, so I will probably have to stick to a smaller species. I will be living in Ohio and Maryland (Ohio mostly), so that means humid hot summers and cold snowy winters. I plan on building my own enclosure if I get a tortoise, so any advice on that would be welcome!

What tortoise species would you recommend? Do you think it would be do able in college? I have plenty of room at home, but at school it is very limited--though there are a lot of pesticide free (actually pesticide free) grassy sunny areas I could take the lil guy to hang out in.

Thanks!

johnsonnboswell

5 Year Member
I'd wait. You'll be moving a lot, having to go between college and home for breaks several times a year in bad weather & you can't leave the tortoise behind or in the car. You may want to travel a bit. If you don't have backup, it could be very rough on your animal. Not every landlord is understanding of torts as pets.

Doing your research so you're ready is good.

Careym13

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Northern Virginia
Welcome to TFO!!:tort: Glad to hear you are doing lots of research, but definitely take into consideration what johnsonnboswell said :)

holoublahee