Indentity Crisis

Status
Not open for further replies.

FunnyGirl

5 Year Member
It was suggested that I start a new post regarding the identity of my Tortoise named Switch. I have pictures on another thread but no one who read it was actually positive of his ID.

I was told he was a Greek male. No idea of his age or where he came from. A friend had him for a couple of months and gave him to me along with a Russian female. My friend was told the female was the Greek and the male - who is bigger - is Russian. I switched it around and others on this forum confirmed she is a Russian.

So, what is he?? He is the one on the right. Besides BORING! This guy has no personality!!

SplashSwitch%20copy.jpg

SwitchBottom%20copy.jpg

SwitchTop%20copy.jpg

Thanks

Meg90

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
WI
He's definitely a Greek...Could be a really dark Jordanian Greek I think (but I am no expert at subspecies)....

How have you been keeping him? UVB, heat etc. I don't think his carapace should be so dark, unless its a subspecies thing. What's his SCL?

My Greek has tons of personality. Is he sick? How long have you had him?

Millerlite

10 Year Member!
Southern Calif.
it is a greek, greek tortoises can be that dark, they range in that area. Greeks do have great personality, maybe hes just scared or had a rough life. How long have you had?

Meg90

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
WI
I've been reading your other thread, and here are some things I think might help:

First, separate him from the Russian. He will do better by himself. Then, get him a nice basking bulb, trex 100 watt, or a powersun 100 watt. That will give him UVB, and heat. maybe he is too cold to be active. Also, go out and pick up some spring mix. ONLY offer that. He will eventually get hungry enough to just eat it, he is an adult. He can go a bit without eating.