I'm new to tortoises!!

sulcata1861

Hi! My name is Megan, i am from northern texas and I have been interested in raising a sulcata tortoise for years!! I've done a lot of research but sadly there isn't always a black and white answer so I was hoping to have yalls advice...I just got my first sulcata hatchling on November 6 2015... he/she was hatched in July of 2015 and is about 2 inches wide... he (i dont know the sex so im calling it a he) is still shy around me and so far has only come out with me present during his first soaking in warm water for 30 minutes, which i did this morning... he is eating and drinking and appears to be settling in well... he hides most of the day but is up every morning for a couple of hours and then again around 3pm... so here's my questions..

1. I had plans of building a 4 foot by 2 foot turtle box for him, however the breeder suggested a small area for the first year that way he wouldn't have trouble locating his food.. I've never read anything about this so was interested in yalls input on this advice...would a small enclosure be best for the first year? Could it hurt?

2. I am currently planning to soak him 3 times a week for 20 to 30 minutes each time.. too much/not enough? Can you over soak them?

3.im having trouble getting his enclosure to get above 90 degrees...I'm using an enclosure the size of a 20 gallon tank and I have a UVB light along with a 75 Watt heat lamp.. would a 100 watt be too hot.. plus would putting a heat pad under the enclosure all night make it too hot? I have about 2 inches deep of alfalfa pellets as bedding... or could I move him into the living room (warmer) or is that too much traffic with me, guest, and dogs? Would that stress him out? I wanted to get a space heater but didn't know if that'd dry out the room... the current humidity is between 60 and 70%.