I'm a newbie to the tortoise loving world :)

Sylviesoph

Location (City and/or State)
South West England
DSC_0821.JPG DSC_0819.JPG DSC_0820.JPG
Hey everyone!
To start I am from the South West of England... currently experiencing a rare heat wave.
I have recently been given a tortoise. I do not know its gender though I keep referring to it as a he.
His name is Horatio (the choice of my 89 yr old Nan).
We have made him a large run at least 2 metres by 1 metre, with a covered warm area. I am looking into getting a dish that is easily accessible for him to bathe and drink, though I have been bathing him daily (too much?).
I have been led to believe he is 1 years old.
I am committed to giving Horatio the best possible life and I have joined this forum for advice really from those with so much more experience.
I'll attach a couple of pics, I have put a £1 coin next to Horatio (as a marker) in the hope some of you may be able to confirm/guess his age and breed.

Reactions: Ida

sibi

10 Year Member!
Florida, USA
Hi and welcome! My name is Sylvia, and I noticed part of your name we share! I hope you enjoy this forum. It's amazing:)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!!

Horatio is a Testudo horsefieldii, or commonly in the UK called Horsefield's tortoise. I think he's a little older than a year. Looks almost full grown. Maybe about 6 or 8 years old. There's no need to soak him daily. If you give him a waterer he will get his own hydration.

We call them Russian tortoises here in the States, and you can find a nice care sheet for Horatio at the top of the Russian tortoise section here on the Forum.

1028762jld543t69m.gif

Sylviesoph

South West England
Hi Sylvia!