Identification, please help

Pawciorc

Location (City and/or State)
Malta
Hi Guys,
This is my first post but I guess I will be a very active member :).
I live in Malta and bought those 4 cute babies form a local breeder. They are 4 months old now. He has owned their parents for 15 years now and can not tell me what exactly supspecies they are. For geographically proximity to Tunisia I suspect they might be Furculachelys Nabeulensis, but the best would be to consult it with a wider group of ppl who are familiar with this subject.
Pics below.

IMG_20150122_114040.jpg IMG_20150126_144649.jpg IMG_20150126_144838.jpg IMG_20150126_144850.jpg IMG_20150126_144905.jpg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum! I'm not good at I.D.ing the Mediterranean species. The best I can come up with is "Testudo" LOL! But we'll tag @HermanniChris He's wonderful at knowing these species.

HermanniChris

TFO Sponsor
10 Year Member!
It's very tough with babies but based on what you've already stated, they could very be nabeulebsis. A photo of the parents will tell me for sure.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Well, I looked that up online, and my supposed to be humorous comment about "testudo" totally missed the mark. Seems like Furculachelys Nabeulensis is a new designation, and not a testudo.

Your babies are very pretty. I hope you stay here and continue posting pictures of them. I'd love to watch them grow.

Pawciorc

Malta
They are gorgeous, aren't they? :) All of them very vital and with good apetite. I hope they will grow healthy. My only concern is about hibernation because in Malta even during winter average temperature is above 15c.

Pawciorc

Malta
So after some research I figured out they must be Ibera. I found pictures of Ibera hatchlings looking exactly like mine :)

Pawciorc

Malta
I wanted to avoid posting one after another, but I can't find an edit option.