ID help please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

*Amber*

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Suffolk, UK
Could anyone ID this little tortoise please?
Tortoise.jpg

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
greek or hermann.

fbsmith3

5 Year Member
Worcester, MA
I'm not good at Identifying tortoises, I thought it was a Russian Tortoise. Guess I need to keep studying.

*Amber*

5 Year Member
Suffolk, UK
Thanks, here's a couple more pics, the segments of the shell are spiky. Sorry, it's asleep, and don't want to wake it, so can't get underside pics at the mo!
Tortoise3-10-11005.jpg

Tortoise3-10-11003.jpg

I've looked at Hermann's tortoise pics, and their shells look smoother than his. I have looked through a lot of tortoise pics, and can't find one that matches him!

Eweezyfosheezy

5 Year Member
Peoria, Arizona
No problem and yeah she is small but she does look big in the pic. Did you find her or did you get her from someone?

blafiriravt

5 Year Member
Vermont
I think sheezy's right on this one. I gonna say Hermann as well. When greeks get larger they tend to lose a lot of that underlining scute shading, and more or less have little dots. She is pyramiding though, might wanna check the humidity levels in the enclosure. What type of environment do you keep her in?

fbsmith3

5 Year Member
Worcester, MA
From another thread:

She rescued the Tortoise, it was attacked by a fox or dog. SHe cleaned it up with salt water baths. She will bring it to the vet and see if it has a microchip. Right now the Tort is in a rabbit cage with Basking and UV lights as a temporary housing.

blafiriravt

5 Year Member
Vermont
Just found that thread, LOL. Sorry for my previous post. I commented on the other thread. :p

*Amber*

5 Year Member
Suffolk, UK