I am new to Tortoise Forum and have some questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

animallover1999

5 Year Member
I am going to get a sulcata tortoise when a Repticon comes to my city. I wanted to do a little research and ask people with tortoises for their opinion on what it's best for a Sulcata tortoise. It is probably going to be a baby, don't know how old yet. I have some questions:

1.what should i look for when i an choosing a tortoise, health wise?

2. Is there an easy way to tell a boy from a girl?

3. What kind of enclosure should i keep it in until it gets big enough to go outside in my backyard?

4. What is the healthiest things i can feed it?

5. Anything important i need to know, so i can keep it healthy?

6. It's there a website that you would recommend? That has a good, detailed, accurate care guide?

7.I have dogs, so when the tortoise gets really big to where it has to be kept outside, they shouldn't be able to hurt it. Correct?

I have done some research, but i would like more opinions. Live in south Florida... If that would be important information when he/she gets big enough to put outside.

Thanks for taking the time to read and answer my questions and concerns :)

Gunter

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Woodbridge,NJ
Cant answer most of these since I dont own a sulcata.

But for number 2 if it has a long "tail" and no * type of thing then its a male.If it has a short "tail" and does have a * thing its a female.

Also NEVER EVER LEAVE TORTOISES ALONE WITH DOGS NO MATTER WHAT SIZE.Just a precaution since you never know.For number 4 a thing to stay away from is iceberg lettuce since it has no nutrients.Also here is a caresheet http://www.sulcata-station.org/basics.html

looneybug

5 Year Member
el cajon ca usa
I am new to this forum as well I've only been here for about 6 weeks and this is what I ( as tom says) learned the hard way. I didn't know what I was doing and I picked a dying baby