Humidity?

Hi guys I'm new to the tort world I have a 4 month old hatchling. I was wondering what humidity you keep their enclosure at? Lastly was wondering , she has formed a yellowing color under her nostrils. She still acts fine, eats fine and is active. Should I be worried? Couldn't get a good picture of it:(

MysticCaribou

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Sweet Home Chicago
Hi. I don't know about the yellow coloring - is that new? For Humidity I struggle with that as well. Finally have it about 75%.

At first it was just a little yellow color now a little more, I'm pretty sure it's not mucas because her nostrils are clear.

Ok thanks that was what it was at? Do any of you guys keep a heat mat under any of your torts hides?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I've been keeping tortoises for many, many years, but only in the last 5 or 6 years have I known about humidity and pyramiding. I now keep my baby habitats covered to keep the moist, warm air inside. I have never had a gauge to measure humidity. I just wet the substrate and keep the enclosure covered.

Anyfoot

5 Year Member
UK Sheffield
Hi guys I'm new to the tort world I have a 4 month old hatchling. I was wondering what humidity you keep their enclosure at? Lastly was wondering , she has formed a yellowing color under her nostrils. She still acts fine, eats fine and is active. Should I be worried? Couldn't get a good picture of it:(
Hi Willow and welcome. We could really do with some photos of your tort and enclosure to offer advice.

theguy67

10 Year Member!
I've been keeping tortoises for many, many years, but only in the last 5 or 6 years have I known about humidity and pyramiding. I now keep my baby habitats covered to keep the moist, warm air inside. I have never had a gauge to measure humidity. I just wet the substrate and keep the enclosure covered.

+1