How Long will this work?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joshtheturtle

5 Year Member
Hey, I am new to this and I have been browsing for a few days now, reading and learning. I am planing on getting a Sulcata hatchling. My question is, how long can I house my baby sulcata inside in a well built tortoise table for? I am in a small apartment with no yard, but in a 2-3 years I'll be moving into a house. Is this a problem, or would my little guy be okay for that long.

Fernando

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
I went from a 10 gallon to a 20 gallon to a 30 gallon to now 100 gallon tank lol

A backyard w/ sunshine is always the best. But if the tortoise table is big enough for exercise and he's getting regular sunshine he'd probably be okay for 2 maybe 3 years from my understanding depending on how big he gets...which can be big fast.

I live in an apartment too. My tortoise loves his new enclosure though. He gets 2 hours a day on the weekends of sunshine but he also has an MVB in his tank too in case I can't get him out on the weekends like recently.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
It really depends upon how quickly your particular tortoise grows. I just adopted out a three year old sulcata that was about the size of half a soft-ball. Her new keeper put her into a nice large indoor habitat that measures about 2'x4'. She fits in there just fine. By this time next year she may be way to big to over winter in this habitat and need a new one. We'll just have to wait and see.

M

Maggie Cummings