House Centipedes and Russian Tortoises

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ycul

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Long Island, NY
Hi everybody!

I tried to look on the forum to see if there was any information about house centipedes and Russian Tortoises, but I only found one thread dealing with Red Foots (which I now think I want to try to help with the problem...).

Anyway, I recently moved to western Pennsylvania from south east New York with my two Russian Tortoises into a basement apartment. We have this terrifying bug that also, occasionally, makes an appearance. Up until about an hour ago, I referred to it as a hell beast, but a friend just identified it for me as a house centipede (if you haven't seen one of these nasties, look it up on google images and you will most assuredly see how my original name for them was dead on, I also included an image). I digress, my concern is for my tortoises. I'm a full time student so I'm not home for too long at a time other than to sleep. While I haven't seen any house centipedes in or around their enclosure, I'm still concerned about what could happen if they come into contact with one another. Does anyone know if one of these centipedes could do harm to my tortoises? One is about four years old and the other is probably a year and a half/two years old.

Thanks for any and all help or insight!

Lucy

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    143.4 KB · Views: 113

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Wow! That's a very interesting bug. Just look at those back feet. Almost looks like it would help him to be able to walk on water. Very interesting.

Hi Lucy:

I really doubt this bug will harm your tortoises. But, just to be sure, you can put a bead of diatomacious earth around the outside of your tortoises' habitat. If you can't find that product, then you can use borax powder.
I doubt the bug will cross that.

BowandWalter

5 Year Member