honulver with questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

honulver

5 Year Member
Hi All,

I am new to Tortoise forum , live in Hawaii.
I recently acquired some Egyptian Tortoises , wanted to get input from experienced keepers to help keep my gang thriving.
I specifically had ques about what type/variety of food, mixtures, Mazuri? are recommended.
Also, I have a Mulberry bush in their enclosure, would anyone know if the ripe berries are okay for them to eat?
Any & all info would be appreciated.

billskleins

5 Year Member
Wow you are very lucky to find Egyptians in Hawaii - they have very strict import laws and I bet not too many have made it to the islands.
Mine have always loved mulberry leaves and hibiscus flowers. Give only organic or non sprayed plant food.

I try to feed as much collected wild edible weeds as possible but Hawaii is very different than my Texas location.

But also tort palatable grasses, grape leaf, any member of the chicory family such as radicchio or endive or frisée. Occasionally other dark green leafy greens such as kale.
Variety is the key. Even spinach rarely given and in small quantities.
I do give my adults Mazuri occasionally. I moisten it with warm water and add calcium powder plus I usually add dried orchard grass hay fines, dried dandelion and plantain leaf, rose petals.

honulver

5 Year Member
Hi All,
I am so sorry, for not responding sooner....I'm not tech savy..... thought my message didn't go through!!??!! :rolleyes:

Actually , Dept of Agriculture has a list of tortoises that are allowed into Hawaii, as long as the proper paper work is prepared in advance, we can import tortoises that are on the list.