Hibernation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

anm1221

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Maryland
Looking around to buy a toroise undecided on breed but looking at Greek, Russian or hermanns's and ive seen the word hibernation come around. I know what it means but can anyone tell me about this and wether the animal does need to hibernate or if it is an option i'm not sure how it works.

Spn785

5 Year Member
Mid-Missouri
Brumation (not really hibernation) is optional in tortoises. Not all species and subspecies do brumate, and it can vary with whether the tortoise is captive bred or wild caught. Under the best of circumstances I would not brumate the first year you have a tortoise, but after that it is up to you. There is a lot of debate with this, and I have very little personal experience.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
No tortoise has to hibernate. Some cannot hibernate at all. The ones who can don't have to.

If you have good accommodation indoors when the temperatures drop and outside is no longer an option, then you are fine keeping your tort up. Just remember that as they grow, they need more space and that hibernation might end up being a less stressful option for both you and your tort than confining it indoors.

Don't hibernate very small torts.
Only ever hibernate a 100% fit tortoise
The temperature for hibernation should be as stable as possible around 5C (40F) and never exceeding 10C or going below 0C
Check and weigh your tort frequently through hibernation
Two weeks is long enough for a first attempt.

jaizei

Unknown Member
10 Year Member!
Earth
JoesMum said:
No tortoise has to hibernate. Some cannot hibernate at all. The ones who can don't have to.

Which ones would that be? Just because an animal is not required to brumate to survive in it's natural range does not mean it lacks the ability to do so.

GeoTerraTestudo

5 Year Member
Broomfield, Colorado
jaizei said:
JoesMum said: