HELP hinge back tortoise always sleeping

Reppy37

Location (City and/or State)
Fountain
Hi I'm Matt and I recently picked up a bells hinge back tortoise from repticon and shes always sleeping. I haven't seen her do anything but sleep and I'm always checking up on her she's not eating any food isn't drinking any water nothing, I really don't want her to die. I was told that she'd probably go into brumation but when I did research it said the only go into brumation from may to September. If anyone could help with tips or what to do that would be great. Have a great day and thank you if you try to help.

Ben02

Brighton, Southcoast, UK
Hi, I'm not experienced in hinge backs, but perhaps she is still in dry season mode as hingebacks do nothing in those seasons. Someone with more experience will shed some light on it.

Kapidolo Farms

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
South of Southern California, but not Mexico
So Bell's straddle the equator, in the wild, and have wet and dry season. I am also wondering if indeed it is a Bell's, like did it cost a few $K? An image would be super welcome.

Crank up the humidity and warmth. 85F and 85%RH, low light seem to be okay with all hingebacks and lets not assume we know the species yet.

A mushroom, strawberry, papaya, and some butternut squash for plant like matter, a few earthworms, pinkie mice, or broken leg crickets would probably spark most any reluctant hingeback to eat.

lets get that image so we know better what we are talking about.

Gabriel Mattei

5 Year Member
Thailand