HELP ASAP!!!! (dog chewed turtle)

Killerrookie

My Pitbull just found a turtle and he is all torn up and idk what to do!!!! He is still alive and breathing. I never had a turtle before and don't know how to take care of it so help me please. ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1428954523.047830.jpgImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1428954531.698989.jpgImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1428954546.626579.jpg

Killerrookie

Really @ZEROPILOT? Why do you think so? You don't think it'll make it if it's taken to a vet? I Don't know if it would make it. It may have to be put to sleep...The punctures look deep.
2 of the holes look pretty deep the others are pretty much a little punctures

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
I'm no expert. A lot of our members are extremely used to this type of emergency.
My vet isn't very swift and he's the only one within 50 miles that does torts and turtles. I just added what I would do in this situation.
It looks grim and I would stop the suffering quickly.
I'm quite sure that he has been both punctured and partially crushed.
I can't guess if he would live or not, etc.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Yellow eared slider?
I'd humanely kill it.

No way! Turtles have recuperated from much worse than this. All he needs is someone who knows how to care for water turtles and some antibiotics. He'll be fine.

Contact the Gulf Coast Turtle and Tortoise Society and see if they'll take him:

http://www.gctts.org/node/9

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
No way! Turtles have recuperated from much worse than this. All he needs is someone who knows how to care for water turtles and some antibiotics. He'll be fine.

Contact the Gulf Coast Turtle and Tortoise Society and see if they'll take him: