Hello

Status
Not open for further replies.

slsauer1

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
USA
I'm totally new at this kind of thing so hopefully I'll figure it out. I have a Sulcata tort named Tiny, who is supposedly about 14-15 months old. I have had him for 10 months and just love it! Tiny's shell began pyramiding right after I got him even though I was weaning him off of strictly lettuces onto grasses, dandelions, plantains, etc, which makes me wonder if he isn't actually older than I was told he is or if his earlier diet was just horrendous. Now I am in a sticky spot as I live in a cold winter climate so he must stay indoors in his flat but I don't have access at this time of year to the grasses and weedy diet he had throughout the summer months and am trying to find a place that sales seed blend for torts that I can grow for him. Any help would be appreciated. And I lood forward to all the info I can glean on the tort forum!

Laura

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Foothills above Sacramento CA
Welcome.. what are you plans for when he gets bigger? He has to be outside.. and he will need real sunshine..
For now, his diet.. Go to the Gorcery store and get Spring mix and other Dark leafy greens.
If you are lucky, you can get him used to eating grass hay when he get older, so you wont go broke buying food for him.
What kind of set up do you have him in now? Heat? Light? Humidity?? READ the sulcata section. .and then Read some more and ask questions. :)

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome. Pyramiding is not caused or prevented by diet. Its a complicated thing but its primarily about hydration and humidity. Here's a care sheet to follow. This will give you your best chance of stopping the progression and keeping the new growth smoother.
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/Thread-How-To-Raise-Sulcata-Hatchlings-and-Babies