Hello :) first timer

Roddytort121

Location (City and/or State)
Derbyshire UK
Hello! So I've been thinking about and researching tortoises for over a year and finally went for it this week. I decided to take on a 5 year old male horse field who was no longer wanted by its owners. Even as a novice I could see he had not had all his needs met when I went to collect him. He was kept in a completely glass viv with a heat mat and unsure what bulb above. He does look very well however and is very active! He has now got a much bigger tortoise table with all he needs and uvb heat lamp etc. But he doesn't seem to eat much at all? I'm a little worried about that. I've given him dandelion cuttlefish. Just any tips really. Eventually he'll be getting an outdoor Home for the summer :) bless him

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

I'm the resident forum nit picker and I always point out the problems I see. I do this to be helpful, but some people take offense. I hope these tips help.

1. That enclosure is much too small. They need some thing at least 3x6' and 4x8' is better.
2. Carrots are not a good food. Too high in sugar, which can upset their GI tract.
3. That substrate is dangerous. Encouraging a tortoise to eat its substrate to satisfy calcium cravings is a very bad idea. That stuff should be taken off the market.

Also, there is nothing wrong with glass tanks and vivs. This is an old persistent myth. They are actually better for babies since they help hold in more heat and humidity.

Check these out:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Hi and welcome! What temp do you have him at? What as he eating before and what all have you tried feeding him?

Jacqui