Hello everybody

Status
Not open for further replies.

JaredP

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hi, I am new to tortoises and I am really glad to find this forum. I did a lot of research online and at local pet stores and decided to get a baby Sulcata(Nibbler). I know all the time, money and space needed to take care of one and I believe I have the resources to be a good owner. There's a ton of info on this site and I have learned alot. Thanks! I do have one concern though. I currently live in Oregon but am moving to Colorado Springs next week. There is actaully alot of sunny warm days there and I will have a secure large indoor area as well. The concern I have is about the altitude. Does anyone know if there are any special concerns with high altitude(over 5000 ft.) with torts? Anyway, I'm happy to be a part of TFO and look fowrad to hearing from you.

Jared

Isa

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Montreal, QC, Canada
Hello Jared

Welcome to the forum (Sorry I cant help you with your question about altitude, I am sure someone will).

When you will get your sulcata do not forget to post the pic :D.

I am sure you will love it here

Isa

purpod

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Today is my birthday!
Ventura County, CA
Greetings & Welcome!

You know, just to add one more thing to your thought processes, will you be able to keep your new friend warm enuf when the snow is deep and the temps below freezing? While small, it won't be an issue, but when your sulcata grows to 100+ pounds, it may be problematic ~

Anyways, it's nice to see one taking so much care in preparing for a tortie ~ again, Welcome ~
Purpod

JaredP

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
You know, just to add one more thing to your thought processes, will you be able to keep your new friend warm enuf when the snow is deep and the temps below freezing? While small, it won't be an issue, but when your sulcata grows to 100+ pounds, it may be problematic ~